A busy week & my first ever guest post goes LIVE!

Hey there!

I hope that you are well and managing to stay cosy despite this rather drich February weather.

Hot off the press – Jack Vettriano creative writing workshop & GYFF guest post!

This week’s blog takes a slightly different format, and I am extremely excited and honoured to announce that my first ever “guest post” has gone live on the wonderful Pat’s Glasgow West End Guide .

Pat’s site is one of the “go to” sites for anyone living in, or planning a visit to the west end of Glasgow, and I use it regularly to find out what the local skinny is. In fact, it was through Pat’s twitter feed that I first heard about the creative writing workshop being run in conjunction with the ongoing Jack Vettriano exhibition at Kelvingrove Museum – my attendance on this being the subject of my guest post on her site.

If you are in any way interested in creative writing, the process of getting inspired, or if you just love/hate Jack Vettriano, check out my post and please let me know what you think. The post also covers my attendance at the opening gala night of Glasgow Youth Film Festival. I hope that you enjoy reading it.

Wait, my week wasn’t quite full enough with all that going on…there’s more..!

Love in the air

I rounded the week off with a lovely surprise Valentine’s night away at the Dryburgh Abbey Hotel in the Scottish Borders. The hotel is spectacularly located on the banks of the River Tweed in the shadow of the ruined abbey itself. As the snow fell, we huddled in front of the fire with our hot toddies, catching up on stuff we just never normally get the time to reflect on, which in my view should be what St Valentine is all about. The hotel itself caters for the “hunting, fishing and shooting” crowd and so there was plenty of people watching to be done. I (of course) was surreptitiously using the opportunity to dream up characters for my future creative writing sessions! The hotel is also supposedly haunted, but sadly, no sign of the grey lady or the monk when we were there!

The hotel is well worth a visit if you fancy a traditional Scottish getaway in beautiful and historic surroundings.

Coming soon to a blog near you…

One very fierce lady, a sea bird to sample and going for the chop all on the agenda for this weekend = happy blogger!

Have a great rest of the week and please do let me know what you think of my guest post. I would also love to hear your views (good and bad) on the Vettriano exhibition!

UPDATE: Cosmopolitan Blog Awards 2014 – Best Newcomer Award

Thank you for stopping by my blog. If you enjoy reading my posts and have a few seconds to spare, please consider nominating me for the Best Newcomer Award here.

It’s quick and easy, and would mean the world to me to be nominated. Thank you xx

Xx

20140220-065950.jpg

Leave a Reply

