I’ve got a brand new combine harvester

And I’ll give you the key 🎶 

….well not really. But it’s a catchy ol’ theme tune to have acquired now that I have fled city living for some clean air & space in the Scottish countryside. 

Yes – after weeks and weeks of stress and dealing with professional imbeciles at every turn, our big move is finally done and dusted. 

Ok, so now what? 

I had hoped for immediate relief, yet I’m finding that the small stuff is still keeping me awake at night:

I know no one and shall be working from home;

the septic tank vent smells a bit funky;

I need a spider catcher, a lawn mower and a good local pub;

I now have a field of flowers to feed.

This feels a lot like grown up responsibility.

I’m not sure what I was expecting really.

I wonder how much I might miss the comfort of strangers that city life provides, many of whom have inspired posts on this blog.

That’s not to say our new area is uncivilised. 

Quite the opposite dahling.

I’m just yet to meet another human being.

I should really offer you up some smug new home owner thoughts now, I guess. 

The kind of stuff I love to hate my fellow home & interior bloggers for. 

I’m afraid that once this bit is out, I shan’t be bothering you with paint colours, grouting solutions or before & after mold shots.

Hope that’s ok with ya’ll, but I would rather watch paint dry.

It was love at first sight the moment I saw the house.

Seriously, it was.

[Editors note: Don’t worry, there are no romance novels sitting in my WIP; although reading this post back, I’m becoming increasingly concerned that the  Jodi Picoult I’m reading is brainwashing me – and not in a good way.]

One simply can’t help following one’s heart.

But like an unsuitable lover, I tried to shove my feelings about the house and it’s beautiful rural surroundings to the coldest corner of my mind. 

We were being time-wasters really. I was unenthusiastic and secretly scornful when Mr GD had suggested we go and see a few properties in Edinburgh’s commuter belt “just to see how much further our money would go” outwith our eye-wateringly competitive capital city’s real estate market. 

Yawn.

But as it turns out, money goes a LOT further.

And as hard as I tried, I couldn’t get this place out of my head.

I had always seen myself as one of those people who moved and shook in the city from cradle to grave.

Funny how things change. 

And I am a believer in fate.

The house itself is a converted station master’s house from when there was still a train line into the village from Edinburgh in the 1960s. Although it was only converted to its present form in 1993, it retains elements of its former glory, including a walk in larder & Rayburn cooker. 

  
If you had to, I suppose that you could legitimately label me a 21st century housewife. I’m not too fussed about alternative feminist terms or euphemisms for this perfectly valid career path. I make no apologies for that.

But, whilst the Rayburn (AGA) represents the ultimate in country living luxury to most domestic goddesses, it did little more than fill me with feelings of utter dread and inferiority in my role as chief cook & bottle washer. 

The funny thing is that city folk keep telling me how great AGA toast is. Like they know or have time. I tell them that’s what I have an electric toaster for. 

  
To give context, I feel that I’ve only just mastered the flipping microwave. 

It is rather pretty though, right?!

I’m sure I will get there in the end!

So, we’ve been in two days. The boxes are unpacked. The furniture is almost all here. The sun is shining on the glen. Mum and dad have come for the tour and tell me how proud they are of us. 

Next week is a new start. I keep reminding myself that my anxieties are normal. I’m nervous, yes. But I can’t wait to get out and see who and what’s out there. 

  
I shall report back!! I’m just popping out to the garden centre.

12 thoughts on “I’ve got a brand new combine harvester

  1. I’m glad the move went smoothly. Hopefully you will feel at home soon. We moved from the commuter belt of London to mid-Argyll. That took quite the adjustment. While my husband never really settled into rural life, I became a bumpkin. I only really realized how much of a bumpkin though when we then moved across the Atlantic and into suburbia. Suddenly traffic and crowds were something I had to deal with again. So I do think we all adjust to our contexts. It just takes a bit of time. (I’ve been in America 20 months now and am not yet there with the transition).

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s so interesting. I’m quite the inner city slicker from my time in London (pre-kids) and Glasgow and so already finding it a change to call up and book things again rather than just google & online reservation, which is virtually non-existent. We’re only 16 miles out of Edinburgh and so hoping this provides a good balance between fresh air & city life (minus the tourists). Thanks for the good wishes.

      Liked by 1 person

      • 16 miles should mean you get to experience a quieter way of life while also having easy access to everything a city offers. In Argyll, we were 86 miles from a city along crinkly roads. Traveling that in an ambulance was no fun.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Your new home looks beautiful. I live In Plymouth in Devon. My cottage was built in the 1850’s and I am lucky enough to be a 15 minute drive to the city centre whilst living in an Idyllic area. hope you settle in soon and make new friends

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Deep Midwinter Reflections  | Glasgowdragonfly's Blog

Leave a Reply

